• Lilac Mills

Five Wakes and a Wedding by Karen Ross



Blurb

Undertaker Nina Sherwood is full of good advice. For example, never wear lip gloss when you’re scattering ashes.


Nina is your average 30-year-old with a steady job, a nice home – and dead bodies in her basement. As an undertaker, she often prefers the company of the dead to the living – they’re obliging, good listeners and take secrets to the grave. Nina is on a one-woman mission to persuade her peers that passing on is just another part of life. But the residents of Primrose Hill are adamant that a funeral parlour is the last thing they need… and they will stop at nothing to close down her dearly beloved shop. When Nina’s ‘big break’ funeral turns out to be a prank, it seems like it’s the final nail in the coffin for her new business. That is, until a (tall, dark and) mysterious investor shows up out of the blue, and she decides to take a leap of faith. Because, after all, it’s her funeral…

The perfect antidote to all those books about weddings, this book will make you laugh until you cry, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley’s Bridesmaids, Four Weddings and a Funeral and The Good Place.

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Review

I can't believe such a funny book had me crying in the middle. It was over the death of Alice, and you'll simply have to read this glorious, reverential story to find out what I mean.


Nina is a wonderful main character and the style and tone of the writing is captivating. Not only that, the subject matter is so far removed from the usual chick lit settings of bakeries and cafes, that it's simply genius. There was also a really big reveal about 2/3 of the way in that I simply didn't see coming, so well done for that, Ms Ross!

I really enjoyed everything this book - from learning about funerals to the romantic ending. This will be one of my must reads of 2020.

About the Author

As a former journalist, broadcaster and advertising copywriter, Karen Ross has followed a fairly traditional path into writing fiction. Five Wakes and a Wedding is her fourth book, and like its predecessors, the novel has two common threads: the setting is London’s Primrose Hill – Karen’s own neighbourhood – and one of the characters is a dog . . . this time he’s called Chopper and he’s almost the same size as a Shetland Pony

Karen has been self-employed for many years, and continues to work as a marketing consultant, in the absence of an offer to manage Tottenham Hotspur. By way of credentials, her other ‘job’ is trading profitably on the world’s first football stockmarket, a platform called Football Index, where you buy and sell players with real money.

Social Media Links

@ComedyKaren

https://karenross.online/


© 2016 by LILAC MILLS. Proudly Created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now