Family Tree by Susan Wiggs


Blurb

A heartwarming novel from the New York Times bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Love Letters and Summer at Willow Lake.

Annie Rush seems to have it all, a handsome husband and their fabulous life in Manhattan. But all of that is snatched away when she is involved is a life-changing accident. Awakening from a coma a year later, Annie finds that the life she knew has crumbled away.

In the throes of grief, Annie grasps her new reality – she has to start over from scratch, which means heading home. Annie couldn’t wait to escape the small town where she grew up, but now she finds herself warming to the close-knit community and its homespun values.

There’s also a face from the distant past − Donovan Lynch − and all the reasons she’s never quite forgotten him come flooding back. Annie expects to pull herself together and return to the city, but fate has other plans …

Review

This is a typical feel-good book, though not as chick lit as the cover suggests. I did wonder if it was going to be because of the subject matter. and the way the story appeared to be heading with very few pages left to go, I was beginning to think there may not resolution, or there was going to be a sequel. The wrap up did occur, but the last chapter or so felt a little rushed to me. I was also a tad confused about who Donovan was - he's mentioned in the blurb but her 'face from the past' is called something else entirely in the novel.

In spite of the above, and once I'd got beyond the girl meets boy, girl falls in love excursions into the past, things started to get more interesting, and from then on I became invested in the story.

I received a free copy of this novel from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2016 by LILAC MILLS. Proudly Created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now