The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde by Eve Chase


Blurb

Applecote Manor captivates Jessie with dreams of hazy summers in the Cotswolds, the perfect place to bring up her children. But the house has an unsettling history and strange rumours surround the estate. . .

to the fifties. . .

When teenage Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote during the heatwave of '59, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. Drawn into the life Audrey left behind and the mystery of her vanishing, the stifling summer takes a shocking, deadly turn.

The bonds of sisterhood will be tested and an unthinkable choice will have a decades-long legacy. . . Step back in time for a mystery of breathtaking suspense - perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

Review

Poetic, thoughtful, insightful - the author has a beautiful way with words. She weaves the two loosely (at first) connected stories together with consummate skill and care, until she has woven a finely crafted tale of sisters and mothers, wives and daughters, and the complex, volatile, emotional relationships between them.


The summer of 1959 is evocatively described, the carefree lives of the sisters on the surface hiding the dark depths of their burgeoning womanhood and the secrets they are forced to keep. This era compliments and contrasts the present day and those who inhabit it.


A captivating story, told with a rich voice.

About the Author

Eve Chase is an exciting new voice in fiction and has worked as a journalist in the UK. She lives in Oxford, England.


Due to be released on 13th July 2017, you can pre-order your copy here

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2016 by LILAC MILLS. Proudly Created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now